The Night Circus

The Night Circus

Goodreads

Title: The Night Circus

Author: Erin Morgenstern

Random House; Vintage Books, 2011

 

BACK COVER

The circus arrives without warning

No announcements precede it…

It is simply there, when yesterday it was not

 

MY THOUGHTS

This circus is amazing, surprising, magical, and a giant show developed as a competition between two magicians. Well, two magicians who aren’t aware they’re in competition. It’s brilliant. Erin Morgenstern has come up with an original idea that draws you into the atmosphere, trickery and amazement of Le Cirque Des Reves. I love the black and white with a touch of red theme of the circus, and the Reveurs who follow the circus around the globe. I felt it gave the circus a sense of the unexplained, the untouchable, the… inclusive to those only who come across it and join in.

I loved the magical element to this book, along with the mystery of the competition smouldering along in the background – IE it’s not mentioned or referred to often, but comes into play only when necessary. I felt included into the inner circle, and privy to the inner workings of this both exclusive and elusive adventure.

Now, I’ve never spent a lot of time reading fantasy, though I have been reading more of it of late. I love how seamlessly Morgenstern weaves the magical into the everyday. The Night Circus is well written, and I found myself lost within the circus. I didn’t want to stop reading! In fact, I think this is a book I’ll probably reread again soon. Loved it.

RECOMMEND?

If you like to indulge in a sense of the magical, with a hint of drama? Totally!

3 thoughts on “The Night Circus

  1. Yes! This was such a good book! I remember starting it on a weekend of housesitting for someone and I couldn’t be bothered to get up for anything … I’m so happy to have had a good chunk of time to just sit and read it. Great review! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Made Me Cry | my novel addiction

Leave a Reply

