Gone Girl

Gone Girl

Goodreads

Title: Gone Girl

Author: Gillian Flynn

Published: Phoenix, Orion Books, 2012

BACK COVER

Who are you?

What have we done to each other?

These are the questions Nick Dunne finds himself asking on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary, when his wife Amy suddenly disappears. The police suspect Nick. Amy’s friends reveal that she was afraid of him, that she kept secrets from him. He swears it isn’t true. A police examination of his computer shows strange searches. He says they weren’t made by him. And then there are the persistent calls on his mobile phone.

So what did happen to Nick’s beautiful wife?

MY THOUGHTS

WHOA. Holy crap. This was… hmm. I read quite a few blogs and reviews of this before I got to read it, and by the time I got to it I was a little apprehensive. I wanted to read it, but was nervous, because everyone LOVED it. EVERYONE loved it. So I had high expectations. Which were exceeded beyond I could imagine. This book is AMAZING. Creepy and quite unsettling, but amazing. If you can hack a visit to the dark side, please read this book. It is brilliant.

It’s taken me a little while to write this review, as I didn’t really know what to say. Or how to say it, especially without giving too much away.

The book is really well written. In alternating chapters, we hear from Nick, living through the police investigation with him, and at the same time we also get to read Amy’s diary from the last 5+ years, and learn more about their life. Little by little we get to know both of them. You think you know what’s going on, and then, BOOM. B-double truck comes screaming at you from the left side. I don’t want to ruin the surprise, so without saying too much, be prepared for more than one twist. And an ending that may not sit well with some people. But I liked it – it was unexpected. And made me a little queasy.

Everyone in book club loved this one. All of us flew through it. We had read a few in a row that we’d all found a bit ‘meh’, disliked, or not finished. At our last meeting, I was about halfway through “Gone Girl” and was loving it. Kinda-sorta-maybe itching to go home so I could finish it off.  So to guarantee an interesting read, the others decided to adopt it for our next one. Yay for that! No one picked the plot twists, and none of even considered the ending. Winner!

Final Thought: Gillian Flynn has a very dark and twisted mind. Do yourself a favour and read this book.

 

Next Book Club book: The Pianist by Wladyslaw Szpilman

4 thoughts on “Gone Girl

  1. I still need to read this one. I’ve bought it, so that’s a first step! I’ve heard that it’s really dark and twisted, so I think I need to be in the right frame of mind to read it. I’m glad you loved it!

    • I did, and I’ve since read both Dark Places and Sharp Objects. IMHO GG is the best one though. You have to read it, and you’re right, you have to be in the right frame of mind. I also had to read it during the day… not last thing before I went to sleep!!

  2. I just uploaded my review for Gone Girl, and I agree with you – it was totally worth the read! I don’t think I’ve disliked two characters in the same book as much as Amy and Nick, but you just can’t help but be drawn into their world. I think I’ll look into Flynn’s other stuff, for sure.

    • Oh, I know! I started out liking Amy, then Nick (kind of), then I didn’t like him, then her, and by the end I’m not sure I liked anyone in that book!
      Her other stuff is good, I think I preferred Sharp Objects to Dark Places, but liked them both.

Leave a Reply

