Me Before You

Goodreads

Goodreads

Title: Me Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes

Penguin Books, 2012

 

 

Back Cover

Lou Clark knows lots of things

She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now, and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

 

MY THOUGHTS

When Lou loses her job at the Buttered Bun, she needs to find another one, and quickly. Her family depends on her. And totally take advantage of her, all the time. But anyways. So she ends up working for Will Traynor, formerly very active driver in life’s fast lane. The fast lane, however, was not kind, and an accident on his motorcycle robbed Will of not only the use of all 4 of his limbs, but also of the desire to live. So, employed by Will’s mother, Lou starts working with Will, trying to lift his spirits and get him to see that life is worth living. He has a nurse, so *all* Lou has to do is cheer him up. Harder than you might think.

 

Over the course of their friendship developing, they both learn a lot about themselves. And to be honest, they taught me a few things along the way as well. I don’t want to say too much about the details, but there are some big issues discussed in this book. It will make you think long and hard, and presents things from different perspectives. I really enjoy Jojo Moyes writing – this was the first of hers I’ve read but I may have purchased a few (read: all) of her others and am loving them.

This book is amazing. Everyone I know who has read it has loved it, and I’ve read stacks of glowing reviews. Do yourself a favour and read this one! It’s going into my top ten favourites, possibly of all time. I just LOVED it, and I’m willing to bet you will too. Do yourself a favour and read this one.

2 thoughts on “Me Before You

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Made Me Cry | my novel addiction

  2. Thanks for adding me on Goodreads, and sharing your love for this book when you answered my question (very few people actually bother answering the question when they send me a request!) This was one of my all time favourite reads too. My dad actually has a very similar spinal cord injury to Will’s, so I connected with the book on a very personal level. I’m torn on whether or not to read the next one, since I’ve seen mixed reviews, and I don’t want it to tamper with my profound love for this book =P

Leave a Reply

